Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd claimed his first Pirelli MX2 championship with a smart, calculated ride around the sandy Coolum circuit, while Penrite Pirelli CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster finished the year on a high by claiming the round win.

Webster took the Coolum victory on countback after splitting moto wins with Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Jay Wilson in second overall, while Kiwi Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM) picked up third overall.

Todd claimed the championship title in the opening race with a reserved ride to sixth, as Wilson hunted down and passed early leader Harwood on the second lap. Wilson was never headed, although a hard-charging Webster closed in before a small crash saw him have to settle for second, ahead of Harwood. Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Richie Evans finished fourth and Jayden Rykers (Raceline Pirelli KTM) in fifth.

Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing’s Aaron Tanti scored the final holeshot of the season in the MX2’s second outing, but Wilson attacked quickly to claim the lead, with Webster on his heels. On the third lap Webster seized an opportunity to overtake Wilson, eventually leading him over the finish line by 8.4 seconds. Harwood claimed a consistent third, with Todd fourth and Jy Roberts (Husqvarna) fifth.

The top three positions in the Pirelli MX2 championship belonged to Todd, Harwood and Tanti.

1. Kyle Webster (Honda) 67
2. Jay Wilson (Yamaha) 67
3. Hamish Harwood (KTM) 60
4. Wilson Todd (Yamaha) 53
5. Jy Roberts (Husqvarna) 48
6. Kaleb Barham (Husqvarna) 48
7. Cooper Pozniak (Yamaha) 44
8. Aaron Tanti (Kawasaki) 42
9. Kale Makeham (Honda) 39
10. Cody Dyce (Yamaha) 39