TAFT, Calif. – FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Taylor Robert raced his way to a second-straight victory over the weekend at Round 2 of the 2020 World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS) in Taft, California. 

Robert powered his KTM 450 XC-F to a second-place position off the start, where he applied pressure to FMF/RPM/KTM Racing Team Maxxis rider Dante Oliveira early on. On lap four, the KTM-mounted duo came into a silt section together and Robert, who was close behind Oliveira, got blasted with silt and went down, which gave Oliveira some breathing room for the rest of the lap. Robert was able to make up the 10-second deficit by the next lap and from there he continued to pressure Oliveira for the top spot. 

Just before the halfway point, Oliveira hit a kicker going up the hill and went down hard, gifting Robert the lead position with seven laps to go. With a sizeable lead over the rest of the field, Robert played it safe to bring home his second-straight victory by a margin of 16 seconds.

Taylor Robert: “I had couple of scary moments trying to get around Dante and hanging it out as far as I could to stay with him, so after that point I kind of toned it down a little bit and decided to ride as safe as I could to the finish line. It feels good to get two wins in a row to start off the season, especially because both of these tracks are the fastest tracks we have, so I’m really happy to get through them healthy and to come away with wins is a bonus as well. I’m excited for the next two races, they should be a little bit slower and more technical.”

As for Oliveira, after leading the first five laps he was able to re-mount and ultimately salvage ninth-place in class despite a hard crash. 

In the Pro 2 division, FMF/RPM/KTM Racing Team Maxxis rider Mateo Oliveira finished on the podium with a solid third-place at Round 2. In Pro 2 Lites, KTM-mounted rider Angus Riordian secured a second-place finish.

Round 3 & 4: Lake Havasu, Arizona – March 20-22, 2020 

Pro (MC) Results – Round 2
1. Taylor Robert, KTM, (12 laps)
2. Austin Walton, HQV
3. Cole Martinez, HON

Pro 2 (MC) Results
1. Tallon Lafountaine, HON
2. Mason Ottersberg, YAM
3. Mateo Oliveira, KTM 

Pro 2 Lights (MC) Results
1. Tyler Lynn, YAM
2. Angus Riordan, KTM
3. Mason Matthies, YAM

Courtesy KTM