Kawasaki Australia’s motocross star Meghan Rutledge controlled the four races from the front of the pack on her way to another YMF Australian Women’s championship.

Rutledge posted 1-1-1-3 results over the weekend to win the championship, while Jessica Moore (KTM) and defending champion Maddy Brown (Yamaha) took the podium honours at Coolum.

In the opening race Rutledge led all seven laps, with Moore 4.2 seconds adrift and Brown in third. Tahlia O’Hare (Yamaha) and Courtney Whyte-Dennis (KTM) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The second race saw Rutledge again dominate with a wire-to-wire, with a 13.4-second victory over Brown and Moore. O’Hare and Whyte-Dennis again rounded out the top five.

Moto three’s result was a carbon copy of the opening race, with Rutledge finishing a comfortable 7.3 seconds ahead of Moore, followed by Brown, O’Hare and Whyte-Dennis.

The fourth and final race of the weekend saw a change in fortunes as Moore controlled every lap on the way to a 12-second lead over Brown. Rutledge completed the first lap in second place and then rode a reserved race on her way to the title. O’Hare again finished fourth, with Kara Cats (KTM) in fifth.

1. Meghan Rutledge (Kawasaki) 135
2. Jessica Moore (KTM) 129
3. Maddy Brown (Yamaha) 124
4. Tahlia O’Hare (Yamaha) 112
5. Courtney White-Dennis (KTM) 103
6. Kara Cats (KTM) 98
7. Nicole Kenny (Kawasaki) 91
8. Megan Bagnall (Yamaha) 90
9. Chelsea Blakers (Yamaha) 89
10. Hannah Bagnall (Yamaha) 83

Words and images courtesy MX Nationals