Thanks to Mother Nature, the second round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship from Loretta Lynn’s Ranch was a wild affair. A battle of survival emerged at the Loretta Lynn’s 2 National as riders did all they could to navigate the tough, muddy track and keep their bikes running through the entirety of two motos across both the 450 Class and 250 Class. In the end, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Zach Osborne and GEICO Honda’s Jeremy Martin were rewarded with hard-fought, well-earned victories.

In addition to celebrating the winners and podium finishers at each round of the 2020 season, each week the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship also brings attention to other riders who should be recognized for their efforts. Following every round a pair of specialty awards are handed out to riders who dig deep and overcome the odds to achieve success.

The Deltran Battery RC Hard Charger Award recognizes the 450 Class rider that embodies the relentless, never-give-up attitude that personified the career of the G.O.A.T. Ricky Carmichael, the most successful rider in the history of American motocross. The award is given to the rider that passes the most competitors in a single 450 Class moto at every round, earning the most significant improvement from his starting spot to his finishing result. Each recipient of the RC Hard Charger Award is awarded with a custom-designed trophy.

The FMF Privateer Power Award shines the spotlight on the underdog rider that overcomes the odds in pursuit of his racing dream, exceeding expectations by putting forth an incredible performance that often surpasses that of the factory-backed riders that surround him. The ability to do more with less is something that every privateer aspires to achieve, and each week this award applauds a rider who was successful in accomplishing that feat.
Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award

The start of the day at the Loretta Lynn’s 2 National for 450 Class point leader Zach Osborne began about as bad as possible in qualifying. However, what could have easily become a nightmare of a day ended with the excitement of a second straight overall victory. In looking at the box score, Osborne’s triumphant outing can be directly attributed to a resilient ride in the opening moto when he somehow managed to overcome a 31st-place start and fight his way to a fifth-place finish, surpassing an incredible 26 riders along the way to earn the Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award.

16 Zach Osborne / Abingdon, Virginia / Husqvarna

+26 positions in 450 Moto 1 (31st to 5th)
FMF Privateer Power Award

In the midst of a rain-soaked afternoon at the Loretta Lynn’s 2 National, one rider who found success in the ever-changing muddy conditions was 450 Class rider Justin Rodbell. Growing up on the east coast, the Maryland native is no stranger to racing in the mud and it showed as he excelled every time bikes took to the track, easily outperforming many of his high-profile factory-backed counterparts. After qualifying solidly in 13th, Rodbell turned even more heads with his ability to overcome a pair of starts outside the top 20 and finish just outside the top 10 in both motos. A pair of 12th-place finishes helped Rodbell capture the best finish of his career in 10th overall, making him an obvious choice for this week’s FMF Privateer Power Award.

258 Justin Rodbell / Prince Frederick, Maryland / Kawasaki

450 Class: 10th Overall (12-12)
Now available for download for both Apple and Android devices is the official Pro Motocross App. Fans of American motocross can have access to the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series right at their fingertips on their mobile devices. Developed by AMA Pro Racing, the Pro Motocross App provides users with the most important information surrounding the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, from series news to schedule and ticket information, as well as broadcast schedule details and live timing & scoring. Download it now via the App Store or Google Play.

For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit: