HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. – The second to last day of racing took place today, Friday, August 3, as the 37th Annual Rocky Mountain AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship, presented by Lucas Oil, continued in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee. The first 21 National Champions were crowned as the typically hot and humid conditions returned to the AMA Amateur National throughout the fourth day of racing.

Racing kicked off Friday morning with the Senior (45+) moto two. Terry Bostard took control of the moto right from the start, and he did not look back. Bostard took the win, and now currently sits first overall heading into moto three tomorrow. Jamie Bennett followed Bostard in second trying to apply the pressure, however he was unable to make the pass and settled into the second place position. Jay Wagner rounded out the moto two podium with a third place finish.

The Girls (11-16) class also contested their second moto where Tayler Allred came out on top once again after finishing 1.08 seconds ahead of Jazzmyn Canfield. Allred and Canfield controlled the top two positions for the entire race with Katie Benson making her way to the third place position after starting off in sixth. Cami Samples and Landrey Hazen rounded out the top five in moto two.

Tayler Allred earned the Girls (11-16) moto two win Friday morning.

450 B was the first class to run their third moto today and crown a champion. Cristian Fernandez got out to a good start, jumping to the front of the pack on lap one. Brayden Lessler was back at the front of the field after a disappointing second moto Devon Xindaris made his way up to third finishing just behind Lessler as the checkered flag flew. Fernandez would go 4-1-1 and take home the first National Championship of 2018.

Derek Drake made his way straight to the front of the 250 A class in moto three after finishing second in the first two motos. Drake would go 2-2-1 for the overall and 250 A National Championship. Tanner Stack would finish behind Drake in moto three after working his way up from seventh, and with his moto scores of 3-3-2, he would earn second overall. Lance Kobusch would finish just ahead of Mitchell Falk and Seth Hammaker in moto three, but Falk and Hammaker would earn the third and fourth overall spots. Kobusch rounded out the top five overall with 5-6-3 moto finishes.

Seth Hammaker battled throughout the week in the 250 A class.

When the 250 B class made their way off the start it was Dilan Schwartz jumping out into the lead with Jalek Swoll less than a second behind him. Schwartz would hold the lead until lap five where Pierce Brown would manage to take the lead away. After making the pass for the lead, Brown would go on to win the moto and earn second overall for the week. Swoll would make a pass on the white flag lap to secure a second place finish in the moto and earn the 2018 250 B National Championship.

The 50cc riders had their final moto of the week just before intermission today. Seth Dennis made his way to the front of the 51cc (7-8) Limited moto and secured his championship with a 2-1-1 moto score. In the 51cc (4-6) Limited class it was Ryder Darrigo who dominated the week with a three-moto win sweep. The 51cc (4-6) Special Limited would see a three-moto sweep as well with Colt Martin who would go 1-1-1 just ahead of Travis Schneider. In the 51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited class, Brayton Kreglow found himself in championship contention early on in the week after earning the first two moto wins, after finding himself at the front of the back once again today, he took home the National Championship. Bode Bradford and Brayton Willis rounded out the top three.

Jalek Swoll earned the 250 B National Championship.

Some great battles have been seen in the Masters (50+) class this week between John Grewe and Barry Carsten. Grewe fought his way to the front of the class during the first two motos, but during the third moto of the week, it was Carsten who found himself in the lead as the checkered flag flew. However, after earning second in the first two motos with Grewe in front of him he would earn the second overall spot as Grewe managed to salvage a second overall after a crash in the third moto. Earl May and Michael Keating had impressive rides in the Masters (50+) class as well finishing third and fourth overall.

Another Pierce Brown and Jalek Swoll battle took place in the Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C class this afternoon. Brown would come around on lap one in the 20th position, with Swoll running first. However, Brown was on a mission to earn the third moto win and try to recover his championship hopes. As the race wore on, Brown was making moves and Swoll seemed to be getting away. After putting his head down and pushing hard Brown found himself battling for the lead on lap nine of eleven. Brown would make the pass stick, but with Swoll’s 2-1-2 moto scores he would earn the overall and National Championship.

John Grewe took home the Masters (50+) title this year at the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.

In the Junior (25+) moto it was once again Michael Brown and Ricky Renner at the front of the pack. Brown and Renner would swap the lead a couple of times, but ultimately Brown would earn the win and the National Championship over Renner. Levi Kilbarger earned third overall in moto three, finishing third overall too. Brad Smith and John Moeller rounded out the top five overall for this year.

After a close battle in each moto, Jordan Jarvis went 1-1-1 to earn the Women (12+) National Championship this year. Jazzmyn Canfield would finish 2-2-2 for a second followed by Taylor Allread and Katie Benson finishing third and fourth every moto. Jarvis will also compete in the WMX motos tomorrow.

Jordan Jarvis dominated the Women (12+) class this year at Loretta's.

The Open Pro Sport moto three was one of the last motos of the day today, and it would prove to be a tight battle between Seth Hammaker and Derek Drake. Drake had gotten out to the early lead and was holding off Hammaker until the lapped traffic became hard to dodge and Hammaker fought his way around as the white flag came out. Hammaker would take the moto win after a hard-fought battle all week long, but it would not be enough for the National Championship as that went to Derek Drake after earning 1-1-2 moto finishes. Mitchell Falk earned the third overall spot after battling at the front all week as well. Curren Thurman and Jyire Mitchell rounded out the top five.

The final day of racing continues tomorrow, Saturday, August 4, as National Champions are crowned. RacerTV continues with live streaming coverage beginning at 8:30 a.m. EST/7:30 a.m. CDT.

Thursday’s archived coverage is now available on, to view the racing action from day one please click HERE, while complete results from the National Championship can be found HERE.

Derek Drake took home the 250 A and Open Pro Sport National Championships.


  • Senior (45+) – Terry Bostard
  • Girls (11-16) – Tayler Allred
  • 450 B – Cristian Fernandez
  • Vet (30+) – Taylor Painter
  • 125 C – Jagger Koch
  • 85cc (9-11) Limited – Daxton Bennick
  • 250 A – Derek Drake
  • 250 B – Pierce Brown
  • 51cc (7-8) Limited – Seth Dennis
  • 51cc (4-6) Limited – Ryder Darrigo
  • 51cc (4-6) Special Limited – Martin Colt
  • 51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Ltd – Brayton Kreglow
  • Mini Sr. 1 (12-13) – Caden Braswell
  • Masters (50+) – Barry Carsten
  • Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C – Pierce Brown
  • 65cc (10-11) Limited – Logan Best
  • 250 C – David Dabin
  • Junior (25+) – Michael Brown
  • 65cc (7-9) Limited – Drew Adams
  • Mini Sr. 2 (12-14) – Jackson Craig
  • Women (12+) – Jordan Jarvis
  • Open Pro Sport – Seth Hammaker
  • Senior (40+) – Michael Brown