CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team’s 2018 Australian Motocross Champion, Dean Ferris, finished his domestic campaign with the most dominant ride of the year at the final round of the 2018 Pirelli MX Nationals at Coolum, Queensland, today.

Ferris, who wrapped up the championship last weekend, put the field to the sword in both motos, winning both races by more than 30 seconds and completing a perfect clean sweep of round victories this year. Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Mitch Evans finished the day in second and Davey Motorsports Husqvarna’s Caleb Ward finished the season strongly with his second top three in as many weeks.

Evans grabbed the holeshot of the opening Thor MX1 moto and led for six laps before a charging Ferris strode past and disappeared into the distance. By the end of the race he’d lapped up to fifth place, with a margin of 37.4s over second-placed Evans. Ward put in a gritty ride to pass eventual non-finisher Brett Metcalfe (Penrite Honda Racing) for third with two laps to go. Rhys Carter (Complete Parts Kawasaki Racing) and Callum Norton (DPH Husqvarna) finished fourth and fifth.

In the final 450cc moto of the season KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Luke Clout snatched a brilliant holeshot, but was overhauled by Evans before the end of the lap. It was shortlived though, as Ferris moved into the lead on the second lap and again put daylight between himself and the pack, finishing with a 34.4s buffer over Evans. A consistent ride from Ward saw him place third, with Metcalfe fourth and Norton fifth.

The top three positions in the Thor MX1 championship were filled by Ferris, Evans and Clout.

1. Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 70
2. Mitch Evans (KTM) 64
3. Caleb Ward (Husqvarna) 60
4. Callum Norton (Husqvarna) 52
5. Rhys Carter (Kawasaki) 51
6. Luke Clout (KTM) 49
7. Dylan Long (Yamaha) 48
8. Zak Small (Husqvarna) 46
9. Charlie Creech (Honda) 43
10. Joben Baldwin (Yamaha) 41