The new Grand Prix circuit at Palembang was tight, jumpy and relentless for what was the first of two back-to-back rounds of MXGP in Indonesia. Temperatures were high and letter showers kept the terrain rough in places. Jorge Prado and who rookie Tom Vialle. 

Red Bull KTM were missing their MXGP representatives – Jeffrey Herlings and Tony Cairoli – for the second meeting in a row. Herlings is recovering from a broken lower right leg while Cairol is unexpectedly undergoing a corrective operation in Belgium on Saturday.

The Italian decided on further scans after the swelling had subsided on his right shoulder. He had initially hoped to continue racing in 2019 but damage to the subscapular and supraspinatus muscles. The procedure is performed by Tom Claes (son of renowned surgeon toon) and the former nine-times world champion. 


Jorge Prado increased his impressive statistics in 2019 even further at Palembang. The Spaniard rode to 1-2 of the motos. From 20 races this year Thomas Kjer Olsen took the checkered flag in a dramatic second sprint. The eighteen year old’s overall scorecard on the day is enough to guarantee his ninth consecutive Grand Prix win.

Tom Vialle starts 4th in the gate after his ride on Saturday’s Qualification Heat. Some good starts and impressive speed by the Frenchman across the Indonesian jumps meant to be with Prado in both motos (especially the first race when he made a small mistake by his teammate to lead until the final stages). He made sure 2nd Place and then a protagonist at the front in the second. His 3rd position meant a second consecutive runner-up trophy and fourth for the season. 

Prado leads the MX2 championship by 51 points from Olsen with Vialle in 4th and closing on the top three. 

Jorge Prado :“I had a great start in the first moto and good pace without pushing but then I made a mistake at the end of the waves and hit the floor quite hard. Tom passed me and started to pull away so i was happy with the win. In the second moto I did not know what happened when I got into the lead. I’m off the track and losing positions all the way back to seventh. When I could finally get back to second Thomas was a bit too far away and I was on the limit with my energy. Anyway, it’s another GP win and great for the championship. I have good memories of Semarang last year, so let’s keep going. ” 

Tom Vialle :“Today was very good and I felt great on the track. Fast starts again and a lot to be happy about. When Jorge crashed in the first moto I got into the lead but started to feel a little bit tired after three laps. The last five minutes were tough and Jorge passed me again. I tried to follow but it was hard work! The rhythm in these races are very high in the first laps so it is important to get good starts and this is another thing to be pleased with this year. ” 

Tony Cairoli :“It’s sad to finish the championship this way and it has not happened too many times in my career. I knew I had some problems but I wanted to stay positive about the recovery. I had more scans in Belgium and they were getting better and better. Thanks to the team and to the fans for the support. I hope to visit a few races before the end of the season and will now concentrate on getting better. “

MXGP transfers to a different Iceland this week and travels to the Semarang circuit for the second year in a row. 

Results MXGP Indonesia 2019

1. Tim Gajser (SLO), Honda (1-2) 
2. Romain Febvre (FRA), Yamaha (4-1)
3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI), Yamaha (3-4) 
4. Max Anstie (GBR), KTM (2-6) 
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED), KTM (5-3) 

Standings MXGP 2019 after 11 of 18 rounds

1. Tim Gajser 488 points 
2. Tony Cairoli 358
3. Jeremy Seewer 327 
4. Gautier Paulin 318 
4. Arnaud Tonus 304 
Other KTM 
22. Jeffrey Herlings 57 

Results MX2 Indonesia 2019 

1. Jorge Prado (ESP), Red Bull KTM (1 -2) 
2. Tom Vialle (FRA), Red Bull KTM (2-3)
4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN), Husqvarna (6-1) 
3. Maxime Renaux (FRA), Yamaha (3-7) 
5. Jed Beaton (AUS) Husqvarna (5-5) 

Standings MX2 2019 after 11 of 18 rounds 

1. Jorge Prado 494
2. Thomas Kjer Olsen 443
3. Jago Geerts 334 
4. Tom Vialle 326
5. Henry Jacobi 307