THOR MX1 showcases the elite talent in the Penrite ProMX Championship presented by AMX Superstores and the anticipation for a return to racing for the stars of the sport was at an all time high as the gate dropped at Wonthaggi. 

In the opening THOR MX1 moto, Luke Clout on the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy team YZF450 would take control of the lead early, looking to distance himself from Honda Factory Racing’s Brett Metcalfe in second place. Behind the lead pair, it was incredibly close racing between Husqvarna Australia’s Todd Waters in third, Empire Kawasaki’s Jayden Rykers, Hayden Mellross on the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy team and KTM Australia’s Regan Duffy. 

Duffy would fall early from inside the top five, fielding an incredible charge to pass Mellross, Rykers, and ultimately Waters to end up in third position. At the same time, Brett Metcalfe would field a late race surge to catch Luke clout and relegate him to second, taking the opening THOR MX1 moto win.

Moto two would see Kirk Gibbs lead early aboard his Honda Factory Racing CRF450r, but a costly mistake would see him shuffle back quickly through the field as a furious battle raged with Luke Clout, Hayden Mellross and Regan Duffy in the early laps. Duffy would secure the lead five minutes in and proceed to gap the field as Luke Clout encountered mechanical issues and would not factor into the moto or overall. 

As rain continued to fall the conditions turned even more treacherous as Regan Duffy claimed his first moto win in THOR MX1, ahead of Todd Waters, Kirk Gibbs, Hayden Mellross and moto one winner Brett Metcalfe who would round out the top five.

The THOR MX1 overall victory was claimed by Regan Duffy, with Brett Metcalfe in second and the defending champion Todd Waters rounding out the overall podium in third. 

To stay up to date with the latest Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores news, visit the ProMX Facebook, ProMX Instagram, and join the ProMX Championship subscriber mailing list by clicking the link HERE and entering your details. 

Penrite ProMX Championship Calendar

Round 1 – Wonthaggi VIC April 11th
Round 2 – Canberra ACT, May 2nd
Round 3 – Gillman SA, May 30th
Round 4 – Maitland NSW, June 27th
Round 5 – Wodonga Vic, July 25th 
Round 6 – QMP QLD, August 8th
Rounds 7 & 8 – Coolum QLD, August 14th & 15th 

Courtesy Australia Pro MX