WALNUT, Ill. (June 23, 2020) – The 2020 ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) Series, an AMA National Championship, set its sights on Sunset Ridge MX over the weekend of June 20-21 in Walnut, Illinois. This track is widely applauded as a must race event on the circuit. This venue is considered to be Wienen Motorsports/Yamaha/Maxxis’ Chad Wienen’s hometown track, and he sure has an impressive racing history here. As another incredibly close points battle is heating up, it seems another battle to the finish had ensued at round four of the 2020 season.

Moto one was set and all eyes turned to the starting gate to see who would come out first. Ford Brothers Racing/Baldwin/Maxxis’ Bryce Ford looked to be up to the challenge as he ripped the first corner claiming the holeshot. Behind him was a slew of talent all battling for position as the first lap was scored. Ford would soon see pressure from Phoenix Racing Honda/Maxxis/Elka’s Joel Hetrick as the pair kept a small lead over TBrown84 Training/CST Tires’ Thomas Brown and Wienen. Fords speed was impressive and as a rookie pro, he showed incredible poise having the defending champion repeatedly pull up him. A bad bounce in an outside line allowed Hetrick a clean pass as now experience and endurance would take over. Wienen would make the pass for third over Brown and begin to hunt down Ford who was not fading. Ford remained competitive as the Yamaha duo of Wienen and Brown began closing in on him.

Once again in an option line section, Wienen was able to make a clean pass for second while Hetrick had a clear track in front of him as he held onto the lead. Brown would find the break he needed and pass Ford for third as the moto wore on. The moto would end with Hetrick claiming the win, followed by Wienen and Brown rounding out the top three finishers. The rookie Ford took the fourth spot, and rounding out the top five GennUSA Racing/CST Tires/Corrosion Specialties’ Nick Gennusa.

The stage was set for the second moto, and everyone was excited for Ford to open up and race like he has in many classes over the previous seasons. However, with the points battle remaining close, moto two would be another war between Hetrick and Wienen as the pair refused to give an inch or any valuable points away. In front of his hometown crowd and large family presence, Wienen lives to bring home the win at this round and it always makes for good and intense racing.

As the second moto came to a finish and the checkered flag flew, it was indeed Wienen taking the overall win as well as the fastest qualifier award. With some much needed energy for the upcoming rounds where everyone fully expects more of the same between Wienen and Hetrick who claimed the second position. The points did not have any significant change so we head to round five still locked in a points duel. Brown would secure the final podium position with his third place effort. However, not since the opening pro round at Daytona have we seen Ford climb inside the top five however he could what he was looking for and left Sunset Ridge with a well-earned fourth overall after finishing fifth in the second moto. Hoag would pick off a few more spots over his moto one finish to claim fifth.

The series heads to Pleasure Valley Raceway in Pennsylvania for the next round, which is Hetrick’s stomping grounds. The ground there can get hard-packed and fast, which plays right into Hetrick’s skill set. Wienen can really throw down some serious speed as well so look for another intense set of motos. With a solid finish behind Ford after leaving Sunset Ridge healthy and energized, he may be one to step up and be a threat here as well as Brown. Great family atmosphere, intense racing and great times will surely be in abundance so be sure to make it out and cheer on your favorite racer!

ATVMX Racing will continue with racing July 3-5 at Pleasure Valley Raceway in Pennsylvania. PC: Ph3 Photos
Sunset Ridge Results and Points Standings
Walnut, Illinois
Round 4 of 10
June 20, 2020

2020 AMA Pro Class Event Results:

Chad Wienen (2-1)
Joel Hetrick (1-2)
Thomas Brown (3-3)
Bryce Ford (4-5)
Brandon Hoag (8-4)
Westley Wolfe (6-7)
Alan Myers (9-6)
Jeffrey Rastrelli (7-8)
Troy Hill (10-9)
Nick Gennusa (5-15)

Overall National Championship Standings:
Joel Hetrick (169)
Chad Wienen (158)
Brandon Hoag (121)
Thomas Brown (121)
Bryce Ford (107)
Alan Myers (103)
Westley Wolfe (98)
Nick Gennusa (87)
Jeffrey Rastrelli (75)
Wes Lewis (74)